Flip me over, push me out

January 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I’m reading about tumble turn technique. Wouldn’t you love to be able to do the perfect tumble turn? I would. It seems like such a great way to combine grace with power. I want some of that!

There are a few obstacles I need to cross though.

One is that you need a certain amount of speed to the wall, to give you the momentum in the flip. This is a challenge in itself. Unfortunately the flip turn happens at the end of each lap, when you are most fatigued and out of breath!

Another is that you need to keep your arms out of the picture. When you commence the turn, they should be down by your sides. The trick is to leave them in that position so that when you roll over they are now over your head and ready to streamline away. Beginners (like me) try to use their arms like paddles.

Finally, you have to leave the twist until your turn is fully complete. Flip straight over and push off face up, then roll into position as you streamline off the wall.

Right. Should be easy. Will report back.

L.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flip me over, push me out at lightlyskipping.

meta

